Friday, 1 August 2014

My Writing (Dictagloss)

The Commonwealth games , often known as the Friendly games, has a unique place in sporting history.  The Commonwealth is an  International multi-sport event, like the Olympics  except Athletes come from the Commonwealth countries. The Commonwealth includes Countries such as New Zealand, Pacific Islands and England.    

The first Commonwealth games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada. Eleven countries sent four hundred athletes over from their country to participate in the Commonwealth games. They took part in six sports and fifty nine events. .es every four years. However the Commonwealth games was cancelled in 1942 and 1946 because of World War two.

The multi-sport event has had many changes, even its name has had changes. From 1930 to 1950 the games have been known as the British Empire games. Later in 1970 to 1974 the games took the title of the British Commonwealth games. Finally, at the games in Edmonton, Canada in 1978 this multi-sport event changed its name to ` the Commonwealth games and that’s been its name since. This year its in Glasgow, Scotland.
Go New Zealand 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.